Lonely Girl in a New City

By myself, but not alone.
For I feel the blood that
courses through my veins
And I hear my heart
beat powerfully in
this temple of a body.
By myself, but not alone.
For there are heart songs
to be sung
Ancient places to be explored,
Papers that need creativity
to be brushed across its
smooth, white surface.
For there are operas to be heard
and orchestras to be listened to
There are unfamiliar sidewalks
to be strutted,
and poems to be written.
and silence to be enjoyed.
By myself, but not alone.
For my identity is not dependent
on my home,
or the people that surround me.
or the places I go.
So just because I am
by myself, I am not alone.
I am my own, by my own.
{RM} a girl in a new city

One thought on “Lonely Girl in a New City

Add yours

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑