My Writing Why

My writing,
is a chaotic rhythm.
I go,
                   from here
      to there.
I dip my pencil and mind
into my red-wine ink,
And let my burdened heart
flow across the pages,
often surprised at what’s revealed.
Because unlike everything else
in my life,
my writing is not calculated.
It is messy, and it is often unlovely.
And I tell myself that this is okay,
because I want to be
an artist, without being a perfectionist.
And as I struggle to learn this,
My inner beings are freed,
as they are
     written down,
freely.
These bright leaves sprinkle
sidewalks with chaos, weather
you like it or not.
{RM} – My first time with dVerse Poets. I am very happy to be a part of Haibun Monday! And I am so, very thankful to my mom, Pat Spreng, who suggested that I join this wonderful community of poets.
“Why do you write the style of poetry you write. Not why you write poetry, but the why of your style. We all have a style that we write or a subject we seem to write about more consistently than others. Then, give me a classic haiku to end it.”

6 thoughts on “My Writing Why

Add yours

  1. I see you have this on WordPress now. I like the haiku portion and the use of “weather” rather than “whether” because that is closer to the leaves sprinkling the sidewalk after a rain.

    Like

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑